Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is an idea inspired by Jill at Breaking the Spine.

May 1 is shaping up to be one of the better days in book publication history. In addition get the release of BITTERBLUE, May 1 2012 is also the day we get the sequel to SHIPBREAKER, and the the subject of today’s post, Rick Riordan’s THE SERPENT’S SHADOW.

So far I have really enjoyed The Kane Chronicles. They are quite different from the Percy Jackson books, but still full of great history, and jokes that make me laugh until I cry. I find The Kane Chronicles tend to be slightly more serious (not in a “the world is ending” kind of way, because the PJ books have plenty of that, but in a “our issues are serious, let us share them with you” kind of way. Or maybe I’m just a sucker for the family dynamic), but no less fun.

I’m excited to see what Sadie and Carter get up to this time around (though from title I have some guesses!), and I can’t wait to get back into Egyptian magical hijinks.

May 1 really can’t come soon enough!

4 responses to “Waiting on Wednesday

  1. I was just telling iMatt last night about Riordan’s pop culture zingers, including the name-dropping of Adele in the 2nd Kane book (that’s actually how we got started on it– Adele was on the radio while we were driving), and the whole Amazon gag in The Son of Neptune (still my favorite gag, I think) 😉

    Is Serpent’s Shadow the last in the Kane series (or at least this arc), or is he doing more?

    • The Adele thing is extra funny in hindsight. 🙂

      And yes, the Amazon would be my favourite gag, were it not for “Welcome to Canada, idiot”.

      I think there are five books in each of the Heroes of Olympus and the Kane Chronicles, but I am not sure.

Leave a Reply

