Rising Book One: Resistance

I am about to do something I have never done before: recommend a book I haven’t read.

It’s not as weird as you might think. While I haven’t read Resistance (yet), I have experienced it. And since we have all the time in the world, let me explain.

The year was 2010. Fresh off our achievements in NaNo 2009, Laura Josephsen and I decided to have an “UnNo”WriMo, and unoffically write a novel in the month of (checks livejournal) April. During that time, we both tied off old projects and dove head first into a brand spanking new novel. Mine remains unfinished. Laura’s you can purchase THIS VERY DAY.

By the time I met Laura in person in July of that year, both of us were a bit mired down. I kind of abandoned ship (hence still having an unfinished manuscript), but Laura persisted as what was supposed to be a hilarious romp through a vaguely steampunk world became something much bigger, much darker, and much, much more developed. Even so, she struggled to shape the conclusion of the story as her characters figured themselves out. By the time NaNo 2010 rolled around, we had both decided to try a new book and see what happened.

Eventually, Laura would decide to split her novel into two parts, which took off a lot of the stress but required her to rewrite the ending of book one (and trust me when I tell you to be glad she did this instead of taking my advice and fading to black). I remember this particularly because I got to watch her do it in person at Christmas of 2010. She sat on the couch and wrote while the rest of us played a VERY LOUD game of Settlers of Catan about two feet from where she was writing.

Later that night (well, technically it was very early the next morning), Laura would also solve the problem that plagued the manuscript I had started in November (by threatening me), and a couple days later, she had written her way out of RESISTANCE as well. Laura’s a bit of a perfectionist, so she wanted to have most of Book 2 in the bag before Book 1 was published. This is something I can understand, and it also helps when you get to the end of Book 1 to know that the conclusion is coming soon.

So I haven’t exactly read RESISTANCE, but I watched it get born, so I think that qualifies me to speak well of it. I know I’ve loved watching Laura write it, and I know I already have a favourite character even though I haven’t “met” her yet. Laura’s other books are funny and heartfelt, and I have read enough of RESISTANCE to know that this one is too. I hope you enjoy it as much as I plan to.

Blurb:

All Alphonse wants is a quiet summer at home before his final months at university. What he gets is a half-dead stranger on his doorstep and the task of delivering a package to the leader of his home country. Not long after he boards a train toward the capital, he’s attacked by knights, elite soldiers of the neighboring king.

Alphonse is temporarily rescued by Mairwyn, a mechanic with a haunted past and a deep hatred of knights. Together, they attempt to carry out Alphonse’s urgent errand, only to learn that if they fail, countless people will die.

And even if they succeed, they may not be able to prevent the war that lurks on the horizon.

Author Bio:

Laura Josephsen lives with her family in Tennessee. She is a co-author of the Restoration series and the author of Confessions from the Realm of the Underworld (Also Known as High School). She likes music, reading, socks, rainy days, chocolate, coffee, and sci-fi and fantasy tales.

Links:

Rising Book 1: Resistance:

Kindle at Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B0079DJ3HC
Nook at B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/rising-book-1-laura-josephsen/1108828628?ean=2940013930056
Smashwords: http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/132824
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13412367-resistance
Paperback: http://www.amazon.com/Rising-Book-1-Resistance/dp/1469904357/ref=sr_1_4?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1329773440&sr=1-4

Laura’s blog: http://laurajosephsen.blogspot.com/

3 responses to “Rising Book One: Resistance

Leave a Reply

