Waiting on Wednesday

Waiting on Wednesday is an idea borrowed from Jill at Breaking the Spine.

This one is a little different.

Usually my Waiting on Wednesday posts are either a) series I’m counting the days for, or b) a cover that’s so pretty I just NEED TO OWN IT. This one is not quite either, as it is a standalone by an author I’ve never heard of, and the cover itself is not one that would make me pick it up off the shelf. That said, it’s still pretty great looking, so here it is:

Of course, as usual when I pre-judge something, I now have to eat a lot of crow. Turns out CODE NAME VERITY is about two female spies during WWII, and if you think that alone isn’t enough to make me read it…well, this is probably your first time reading my blog, so, hello!

Two young women from totally different backgrounds are thrown together during World War II: one a working-class girl from Manchester, the other a Scottish aristocrat, one a pilot, the other a wireless operator. Yet whenever their paths cross, they complement each other perfectly and before long become devoted friends. But then a vital mission goes wrong, and one of the friends has to bail out of a faulty plane over France. She is captured by the Gestapo and becomes a prisoner of war. The story begins in “Verity”s” own words, as she writes her account for her captors

WHAT PART OF THIS IS NOT AWESOME?

To make my waiting even more excruciating, many of my friends have already read the ARC. At least it’s only May I have to wait for, and there is a crazy amount of good stuff between now and then.

CODE NAME VERITY comes out on May 15, 2012.

Leave a Reply

