A Lapse in Scheduling

On Wednesday, I finished my manuscript and ate a smore pie*.

On Thursday, I worked 5-9:30, edited a book I am REALLY EXCITED ABOUT**, and worked from 3:30-9:30.

Today I work from 5-9:30, and then 10-5***, so in lieu of a post, here are my thoughts about Pixar’s BRAVE.

SPOILERS BELOW. (But, seriously, if you haven’t seen this movie, you really, really should.)

 

 

BRAVE did two really cool things. First, it gave away almost none of the story in the trailer. I can’t remember the last time a movie did this for me. It was SO REFRESHING. Second, not only did that story focus on two amazing, nuanced and flawed female characters, THERE WAS NO ROMANCE. You have no idea how happy this makes me****.

When BRAVE was first announced, it was called THE BEAR AND THE BOW, and it starred Reese Weatherspoon. Obviously, they Scottished it up, and thank goodness, but I’m very glad they went with such an obtuse title (even though I also adore THE BEAR AND THE BOW), because it added to the mystery of the film.

AND WHAT A FILM. It was absolutely gorgeous, to start with, and the music was AMAZING. And the plot was absolutely heartbreaking, real, terrifying, magical, hilarious and beautiful in equal parts.

I loved how much the Bear acted like Emma Thompson. I loved the expression on Merida’s face when she realized what she’d done. I loved “I’m a wi–ttler.” I loved how every role that could be a woman was a woman.

AND, OMG, I LOVED THE ENDING.

(I also thought the triplets were in it the perfect amount. And plot appropriate to boot!)

Here is a very articulate, very well written response to the movie, and defense, for when people start with the inevitable “The ending was odd!” and “She was an honorary boy!” or “But all of the guys were one dimensional”.

“The males in Brave were all plot devices!” GEE. THAT MUST REALLY SUCK TO HAVE YOUR GENDER MARGINALIZED IN A MOVIE. CAN’T IMAGINE.

Basically, my feelings.

You guys, I am really tired. I apologize for the weirdest blog post ever.

 

 

*I really recommend this, by the way. Both finishing a manuscript and eating a smore pie.
**And, you know, can’t talk about.
***Then I plan to pass out before working at 8 on Saturday  morning.
****Well, you won’t if you’re new. In which case, HI! My name is KATE and I WRITE BOOKS that you can BUY in 2014.

Leave a Reply

