Waiting On Wednesday

Originally, this was going to be kind of a fluffy, vaguely sarcastic WoW entry, but then the internet happened, and it turns out I have opinions. Who knew?


Yeah, I’m excited for THE CASUAL VACANCY. I have no idea what it’s about, which is kind of great in this world of “you can find spoilers anywhere”, and I’m almost positive that I’m not going to love it, but gosh darn it, I am going to buy it tomorrow. That’s not really what this post is about, though. This post is about the person who is probably the MOST excited for THE CASUAL VACANCY.

That person? J.K. Rowling.

(Sidebar: I adore her. I really, really do. Not only has she written a bunch of books that helped define a large part of my college years, she’s also become fabulously wealthy and stayed possessed of common sense. She gave away so much money she dropped a tax bracket, for crying out loud, and should I ever have enough money to build that kind of tree house for my kids, I am totally building one for myself. So I love her. And I am so…HAPPY for her. And, you know, also angry, because people are mean.)

Thing is, she didn’t have to write this book. She could have just faded away (publicly, anyway: I believe Harry Potter is with us forever), but she decided she wasn’t done. She decided she had other stories to tell, and, so help her, she was going to write about British politics.

She could have done it under a pen name and avoided all the flack she’ll catch for daring to publish something that’s not Harry Potter. She would have avoided all the “graduated to adult lit” shenanigans that will undoubtedly ensue. She could have, just like she could have stopped paying British taxes all those years ago.

But she didn’t.

Say what you will about J.K. Rowling, the woman knows her damn path. And I admire her all the more for walking it. It doesn’t matter if THE CASUAL VACANCY is something you (yes, you) like. J.K. Rowling likes it, and she’s put herself in a position where she can get it published.

Tomorrow morning, I’ll be the one who builds the display at work. And when the tills open, I’ll be one of the people in line. Congratulations, J.K. Rowling. You can write whatever you want. Well done.

Leave a Reply

