Waiting On Wednesday

There’s no cover art for the books I’m looking forward to this week. In most cases, there aren’t any agents, deals or editors either. There aren’t any words (or there shouldn’t be), and in some cases, there isn’t even any plot.

But there’s a dream. And a goal. And a lot of stockpiled coffee.

These are books I’ll probably never read, though a few will be honed and polished and eventually see the light of day. But I’m waiting for them anyway, because they’re being written.

Tomorrow is the start of NaNoWriMo, when thousands of writers all over the world attempt to do something ridiculous: write 50,000 words in 30 days. Most are amateurs, writing around jobs and kids and their social lives with no plan on going pro some day. Some are dreamers, like I was (yes, THE STORY OF OWEN was written during NaNo 2011), and some are pros (like I am now? I think? Technically I think I’m still doing this for fun?), but for 30 days, we’re all just writers with books on the brain.

I am on the NaNo website as grav_ity. Feel free to add me to your buddy list, if that’s the kind of thing you do. I wish you all the best if you are writing. Remember to eat and sleep occasionally, and to remind your family that this is your month, your time, and you’ll see them in December.

Mostly, though, this is the time of year when I’m reminded that I love writing. It’s this crazy thing, and I do it because it’s fun. So write because you love it. Write because you chose it. And write because I’m competitive, and if you have a high word count, chances are pretty good I’ll have one too. 😉

4 responses to “Waiting On Wednesday

  1. I keep thinking of my characters and trying to paint a mood and a city in my head each night before bed. So I believe, all things considered, this will be a winning year for me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

