Going On An Adventure!

In lieu of an actual blog post, I thought I would tell you about the writing retreat I am about to head off on.

Our story begins some months ago, when I got an email from Natalie C. Parker asking me if, should she organize a writing retreat, I would like to go. This was, you may recall, about a month before I started querying THE STORY OF OWEN, and I was also unemployed, but I decided right then that I would make it happen.

And happen it has! I leave tomorrow, for a house in Texas where I’ll be staying with 21 other people. Some, like me, are awaiting our debuts. Some are established authors. A couple are New York Times Bestsellers.

To say that I am excited would be an understatement. I have no idea what is going to happen, or if I am going to get much work done (I have a list. It’s almost as exciting as the actual retreat). But between the list of attendees of whom I’m in awe and the list of attendees I’ve been dying to meet for a while now, I’m bouncing up and down like a kid at Christmas.

THE OTHERS:

Brandy Allard, @BrandyAllard
Anna Carey, @AnnaCareyBooks
Rae Carson, @raecarson
Corinne Duyvis, @corinneduyvis
Sonia Gensler, @soniagensler
Tessa Gratton, @tessagratton
Bethany Hagen, @Bethany_Hagen
Tara Hudson, @thudsonwrites
Emily Kate Johnston, @ek_johnston
Michelle Krys, @michellekrys
Gretchen McNeil, @GretchenMcNeil
Myra McEntire, @MyraMcEntire
Amy Parker, @amychristinepar
Natalie C Parker, @nataliecparker
Amy Plum, @AmyPlumOhLaLa
Beth Revis, @bethrevis
Carrie Ryan, @carrieryan
Victoria Schwab, @veschwab
Amy Tintera, @amytintera
Kim Welchons, @Kim_Welchons
Stephanie Winkelhake, @StephieWink
Brenna Yovanoff, @brennayovanoff

SEE? *breathes into a paper bag*

The other exciting thing in my life is that I have just sent my (mostly) completely revisions to Editor Person. I mean, there’s one big change to attempt still, and presumably some tweaking because I had some questions, but generally speaking my Book Shaped Thing is much more Book Shaped now, and I am very, very pleased with it.

Right now, I have to pack. And quadruple check my travel documents. And set three alarms because it’s Lose An Hour Night, and I forget if my phone changes automatically*.

But mostly, things are good. And there are new things. That I hope to tell you, as soon as I can.

 

 

*I had this exact debate with myself in the fall, when the clocks went back, but I can’t remember the result.

One response to “Going On An Adventure!

Leave a Reply

