Some Thoughts Before The Curtain

Fair warning: it’s entirely possible that I am going to be hyper-critical of MARVEL’S AGENTS OF S.H.I.E.L.D..

It’s for a couple of reasons. First, it is a bear to type. Who names these things?* Second, I am usually a fan of Joss Whedon’s stuff, but sometimes I am not, and then it’s awkward. Third, and this is the big one, I am still a little bitter that Coulson’s not dead.

It meant a lot to me, Coulson’s death. Joss Whedon fridged a dude. And before he did it, he made me like him. Because Coulson was kind of a throw-away joke in Iron Man I, and I really disliked him in Thor, because he stood against love. And science. AND iPODS. But by the time The Avengers started, I had more or less come around. When Pepper starting calling him “Phil” and talking about cellists, I was all “NO! PEPPER STOP! THIS IS HOW YOU DIE IN COMIC BOOKS!”, and then he actually bought it, and I was very sad. But it worked. I walked out of that theatre thinking of ways in which Coulson might not be dead**, but in my heart, I was very pleased with how the story had unfolded.

And apparently it meant nothing. It wasn’t just a cheap trick Fury pulled to get Steve and Tony to stop deliberately antagonizing one another. It was a trick on all of us. All of us who thought, for just a moment, that something in the comic book world might have finally changed.

But death’s not permanent. Unless you’re a woman***.

So yeah, SHIELD will be funny. And the fight scenes’ll be nice. And I do actually kind of like Phil Coulson, even though I wish in this case he was a hologram or a clone or a hallucination or a chameleon. So I’m going to watch it. And I’ll probably like it. And I’ll probably have to eat a lot of crow. But I am never, ever going to forget what it cost me.

And I’m not sure if it’s going to be enough to make up the difference.

 

 

 

*Don’t answer that.
**That’s actually a lie. I walked out of the theatre trying to remember who Selvig was, and why the heck I was supposed to care about him, and then I remembered who he was, and also that I never cared about him in the first place, and then I spent the rest of the evening writing The Hammer and The Ice, which made me feel a lot better.
***The new Marvel movies are doing SO WELL at this, I should add. I had SUCH ANXIETY about Pepper, and I have SUCH ANXIETY about Jane, but so far, they have been really good. I guess all that means is that I expect them to be even better.

4 responses to “Some Thoughts Before The Curtain

  1. Personally, I’m not upset that he died, or that he came back (and there’s obviously something hinky going on there). My problem is that I honestly don’t quite understand how his death motivated the Avengers to come together. I accept it as part of the narrative without actually feeling that connection. And I liked him from the start (as a character). I appreciated his lack of humor. So… I guess I’m just missing the whole point.

    • I think it was more that he got Steve and Tony to stop deliberately baiting each other. Bruce and Thor (and certainly Natasha and Clint), are much better at Big Picture Thinking. Steve and Tony need to have a personal stake to get moving. Or at least that’s the impression I got.

  2. “But death’s not permanent. Unless you’re a woman?”
    Are you talking Comics, Comic Book Movies, or movies in general?

    As for Phil, I think you should let this go for a bit…I still think it may be explained in such a way that it doesn’t discount your feelings. Personally, I think they’ll reveal that he did die, and that the current one is a LMD that doesn’t know it.

    • The whole “He still thinks he was in Tahiti?” bit with Maria and Shepherd Book went a very long way to making me feel better.

      I ended up loving Fitz Simmons to pieces, and I can’t wait to find out more about May.

Leave a Reply

