Book Launch Party

So! My book THE STORY OF OWEN: DRAGON SLAYER OF TRONDHEIM came out on March 1, and we had a party to celebrate at this AMAZING toy store called Family & Co., which is in Stratford. I have been going to that store since I was five years old, so it was the perfect place to celebrate a book that is mostly about family and company. And, you know, lighting things on fire.

ImageThere was a great crowd, and a beautiful display.

ImageAND! My nephews and niece came in COSTUME!

ImageHOW CUTE ARE THEY?

My friend Rachel made me some delicious cupcakes and this astounding cake topper that captures one of my favourite scenes in the book.

ImageAll told, it was a really amazing evening. So many of my favourite people where there, and it was wonderful to share my happiness with them. Also, they laughed at the funny parts when I read, which was nice.

ImageAND HERE I AM ON A BOOKSHELF! RIGHT NEXT TO MAUREEN JOHNSON!

Image

7 responses to “Book Launch Party

  1. I wasn’t quite sure how to contact you, so I’m leaving a contact on your blog and praying that you actually read these.

    I just finished reading The Story of Owen. It. Was. AWESOME! I absolutely loved the story, the characters, and the intricate, detailed world you constructed. Siobhan was an amazing narrator and a main character that I actually liked, which is quite rare.

    Can I also say something else? There wasn’t a smidgeon of romance between the main characters. Wonderful. Positively glorious. It’s not that I hate romance, per se, but I hate the way that every YA author feels the need to shoehorn a love story. More stories should have less romance and more politics.

    And that was the other thing. I’m a political junkie, and I love stories with alternate universes, so to have BOTH of those elements in a single, exhilarating story was absolutely magnificent.

    It was well worth waiting the month long wait from when I found out about it and when it came out, and the second month long wait for my library to purchase it.

    Congratulations on the success of your first novel. I will eagerly await your second!

    Yours sincerely,

    Joshua Schaier

    • Hello!

      I do read the comments, and I am so glad you took the time to make one! It is always great to hear from someone who enjoyed my book.

      It’s great to hear that you liked the politics. They were certainly close to my heart. Book #2, which comes out next March, has similar themes and even more dragons. Hopefully if you ask your library, they can have it ready for you close to release days. 😉

      Thank you again for commenting!
      Kate

  2. I loved the book. I’ve only read it twice so far. And to show that it’s a genuine work of art, it has at least one typo. On page 26 of the hardcover edition, it says, “… do you really thing [sp, s/b think] that he was the only person on earth …”

    Congratulations on such a beautiful story.
    Logan

    • Thank you!

      The first edition does have a few typos, but we got most of them for the second printing (or at least I hope we did). 🙂

      I am really glad you enjoyed it so much.

  3. So, I got a copy of The Story of Owen in the mail the other day (full disclosure: I write book reviews, random books show up in my mailbox at irregular intervals). I never would have seen this book otherwise, I’m sure, and that is a tragedy. I’m only halfway through, but I started this morning as soon as I woke up, and only took breaks for food, to make a trip to the bookstore where I used to work to leave a message for my old boss that this is a book he needs to order for the store, and to text all my book buff friends to tell them they *need* to read this book.

    When I was at my old bookstore, one of the new employees asked if I could take her through our YA section and show her what was what, as she never reads stuff in that genre. Her concerns were making sure she could recommend things that had strong female characters, that weren’t gendered in their marketing, weren’t patronizing, and that weren’t just riding the coat-tails of whatever genre is currently popular. Your book does all that, and does it well. I haven’t been this excited about a book in a long, long, long, long time I sincerely hope you have boundless success and that this is the new book kids are talking about this summer.

    I will admit, I prejudged this book based on your about the author section. I knew I would love it based on your love of the oxford comma (I am a militant oxford comma defender, and nobody I know in real life understands my passion). One chapter in I was just blown away, it is so much more awesome than I could have imagined. I won’t go to sleep until I’ve finished reading this book. So I guess, what I’m saying is I wish I could grab a coffee with you and just hang out with such an awesome person, but I’ll settle for reading every single book you ever write, because that will be the next best thing.

    • Hello! Thank you for such a wonderful comment, and THANK YOU for mentioning it to the bookstore you used to work at! That is amazing.

      I do have a second book coming out next Spring that is a continuation of The Story of Owen, and then more on the way that are different after that. So I’m also glad to hear you might read everything I write. 😉

Leave a Reply

